Forum Name: Whitewater Forum
Forum Discription: Open Discussion Forum. Whitewater related subjects only
URL: http://www.professorpaddle.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=15140
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 5:37am

Topic: Tuna opinions
Posted By: runawayjim
Subject: Tuna opinions
Date Posted: 09 Nov 2015 at 11:04pm
Anybody own a Waka Tuna? There is another shipment coming to the US in Jan and I'm wondering what people think of the plastic, outfitting, and overall quality considering a warranty replacement seems pretty unlikely. Design seems pretty sweet, although I have yet to paddle one.

Replies:
Posted By: mikenash
Date Posted: 10 Nov 2015 at 10:10am
I owned a waka tuna for a few months.The first few lowish water runs I absolutely loved it but it has its cons also. Outfitting is outstanding and plastic seems bomber. I have been paddling a zet Raptor for a few years so as I am used to that boat I will and can only compare it to the raptor.   I did paddle a burn for 4 years and the transition to the raptor took some time also.
Pros;
Tuna is fast holds a line well, manouverable and much easier to correct with a sweep stroke than the raptor as it has a little more rocker. It also boofs well because of this, easier than the raptor. It has a much more upturned bow which keeps the bow up and dry without having to work for it, also helps it accelerate out of drops.

Cons