Professor Paddle: Eagle Float vanlinelogistics.com Seattle Washington (WA) Warehousing & Order Fulfillment vanlinelogistics.com Seattle Washington (WA) Warehousing & Order Fulfillment vanlinelogistics.com Seattle Washington (WA) Commercial Relocation vanlinelogistics.com Warehousing & Order Fulfillment
Professor Paddle Professor Paddle
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Home Calendar Forum FSBO Gallery PPages Reviews Rivers Links
  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch
Whitewater Forum
 Professor Paddle : General : Whitewater Forum
Message Icon Topic: Eagle Float Post Reply Post New Topic
James
Admin
Admin
Sum Dum Guy

Online Status: Offline
  Quote James Replybullet Topic: Eagle Float
    Posted: 05 Feb 2009 at 10:59am
Could anyone give me some good beta on when the best time is to go float the skagit on an eagle filled weekend?

I have heard that the last 2 weeks of Feb are prime but I have no personal experience.

And then as a second question. Would anyone be interested in making a trip up there?

James
IP IP Logged Send Private Message Send Private Message
franzhorner
PP Junkie
PP Junkie
outdoors music woodwork

Quote franzhorner Replybullet Posted: 05 Feb 2009 at 2:02pm
I've done lots of bald eagle trips.  Prime time is usually right around New Years up until about the middle of Jan.  By the middle of Feb most of the eagles are gone.  I'd say from the middle of Dec to the middle of Jan is the best time.

Also, consider doing the Upper Skagit instead of the Marblemount to Rockport section.  The Upper Skagit won't have as many eagles but the setting is much more intimate.  You won't see many other people and there are no motor boats powering up and down the river.  Also there are people and houses everywhere on the Rockport section.