Professor Paddle: New Friends vanlinelogistics.com Seattle Washington (WA) Warehousing & Order Fulfillment vanlinelogistics.com Seattle Washington (WA) Warehousing & Order Fulfillment vanlinelogistics.com Seattle Washington (WA) Commercial Relocation vanlinelogistics.com Warehousing & Order Fulfillment
Professor Paddle Professor Paddle
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Home Calendar Forum FSBO Gallery PPages Reviews Rivers Links
  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch
Whitewater Forum
 Professor Paddle : General : Whitewater Forum
Message Icon Topic: New Friends Post Reply Post New Topic
awskitc
Rock Bumper
Rock Bumper

Online Status: Offline
  Quote awskitc Replybullet Topic: New Friends
    Posted: 30 Sep 2013 at 3:20pm
So i was just reading the solo paddling thread and it sparked a different conversation in my head - paddling with folks you've never met. I've been boating in the northwest for a few years, but have moved around a lot and have yet to settle in with a good crew of boaters. so, the majority of boaters i paddle with are folks i meet through forums like this one, pdx-kayaker, etc... or just happen to meet at the put-in, take-out, or while soloing. Just trying to gauge other peoples thoughts on this.

-will you put on with anybody who shows up?

-do you have a criteria for judging folks before you put on with them?

- have you ever had a situation where you had to tell someone to get out because they were in over their head and endangering you or your group? or maybe you were that person?

- whats your move if you meet someone paddling solo? or if you are paddling solo and meet up with a group on the river?

I seem to have had an wide variety of good/bad/hilarious/terrifying experiences with these types of encounters. Please share your thoughts and/experiences!

IP IP Logged Send Private Message
dave
Master Poster
Master Poster
D4

Quote dave Replybullet Posted: 30 Sep 2013 at 3:33pm